Maybe

As I sat by the ocean and contemplated the waves,

I felt a swell of emotions in this unremembered place.

Joy and peace were the easiest to see and hear,

Pain and longing also made their presence clear.

The joy that comes from frolicking under a summer sun,

The peace felt after knowing that today’s deed was done.

The pain of being separated from a sweetheart by seas,

The longing for the feeling an eastwardly breeze.

Deeper inside this unremembered place I went,

And I saw scar tissue and some unhealed dents.

Loyalty and camaraderie were present in bounds,

Guilt and betrayal were also to be found.

Loyalty a treasure so rare, so pure,

Found in the unlikeliest of places my dear.

The loyalty a friend showed when I was in need,

I’m still in his debt and will always be indeed.

The camaraderie of my brothers of blood I felt,

The joys and pains we shared and were dealt.

The guilt of stealing even though the need was true,

The betrayal of a lover with tresses of scarlet blue.

This unremembered place, was it within or without,

Shared with the entities of my thought no doubt.

Do all those long gone dwell in this place?

Do you think my mother can see my face?

As I walked into the ocean, I closed

the doors to this place of feelings undisclosed.

Deeper and deeper my footsteps led me,

Perhaps I’ll live on in that place, Maybe.

2 thoughts on “Maybe

  1. This was such a great read! I particularly related to the following lines:

    ‘The loyalty a friend showed when I was in need,

    I’m still in his debt and will always be indeed.

    The camaraderie of my brothers of blood I felt,

    The joys and pains we shared and were dealt’

    I have a really good small circle of friends who I feel like I will always be indebted to for their help and understanding of my issues. Some of them even handle severe mental health/physical problems themselves. Yet we all try to stand by one another,no matter what. I think you summarised this feeling extraordinarily well. It reminds me that despite what has gone wrong in my life, I am still quite lucky all things considering. Thank you for reminding me of that 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

