Bird is the word

Swift like the swift I’ll wander about

No manner of fear or doubt

Will stop my fancy flying high

Meandering across the blue sky

 

Singing like the nightingale does

Of rivers and lands and desert fortress

Of grasses green and water clear

My voice won’t just disappear

 

Dive like the kingfisher in search of food

The fish are few but o so good

My plumage impresses all the girls

See me dance even princes twirl

 

Be chill like an egret lounging all day

No cares, no worries. no time constrained

In fields of turquoise is my home

Round the feet of cows, I roam

 

But most like a phoenix I truly am

Rising over the Colorado dam

Burn with the radiance of a thousand suns

Be born again not just once

Leave a Reply

